STOP CYBER SPYING

8 Comments

  1. SOPA, PIPA, Cybersecurity Act…The goal is pretty clear (i.e. control), and I have a feeling that it won’t stop until it’s finally reached. As to what can be done about it, I don’t know. I’m getting the impression that no matter how much we fight against these sort of infringements on our privacy, they just keep coming back with something new to undermine our civil liberties (which will always be just a rewording of the same old crap). Eventually, I fear something ominous will leak through due to the sheer amount that keeps getting piled on.

    Like

    • So basically what you’re saying is that since they keep rewording shit and shoving it up our throats and there’s not much we can do no matter how hard we fight and big our numbers are, we doomed? Isn’t that the precise moment we commit suicide as a society??? I believe we do, and that’s what it feels like everyday of our lives.
      May Universe have mercy on the human race.

      Like

      • No, I’m saying that I fear that fatigue will eventually set in and people will fall into a vague apathy about encroachments on their civil liberties. If the number of people opposing something is high, then this is less likely to happen. The problem is that these sort of threats keep getting reworded and diluted to sound as harmless as possible (i.e. torture gets rebranded as “enhanced interrogation”, the right to due process in a court of law loses the “court of law” part, etc.), thus raising the possibility of something being smuggled in incognito. Pointing to these violations is always a worthy effort, I just can’t see myself relaxing after any apparent victory, since I now always assume there is another threat looming just over the horizon. And people tend to surrender easily when no clear victory appears to be in sight.

        Like

        • You’re right, after-all how much can u fight before you figure out the other guy has the upper hand on things?

          Like

          • Not to mention, I think most people are aware enough to understand that even if by some remote chance they do manage to gain the upper hand (and bring the walls around them tumbling down to rumble), where do you go from there? Look at what followed in France after the hopeful moment of the Bastille being brought down as a symbol of the oppressive & corrupt monarchy; i.e. the rise of Reign of Terror. It’s discouraging when history keeps showing that out of every moment of optimism, the same sort of assholes still eventually claw their way to the top.

            As for all these pieces of legislation being presented to control the internet (and let’s be honest here, it is ultimately about control), the truth is that cyberspace is the final frontier of uncharted territory for authoritarians types. The internet is relatively limitless and uncontrollable; whatever sort of content you’re looking for, if you look hard and long enough, you’ll find it. This gives hope in the sense that any attempt to chain this wild animal seems bound to end in failure. Like online piracy, no matter how many laws are officially passed against it, their effective enforcements have so far proved futile. So, on this issue at least, there is still room for optimisms.

            Like

            • You taped on one of my favorite topics in human history, The French Revolution. I’ve read about it, I’ve seen documentaries about it and since I’ve always been one to go against the stream and denounce revolution of any kind, even more so a regime toppling revolution, I’ve made quite a few enemies among my peers. The French revolution came out of utter desperation of the people and absolute nonsensical indulgences of the ruling class (monarchy). Yet, the revolution is a beast which feeds on it’s own children, and what’s even more preposterous is that same revolution gave birth to a new Emperor and Empire with Napoleon. In all human history, neither revolt nor revolution has even accomplished what it started to try and achieve to begin with. I was absolutely appalled by the Arab Spring for the same reasons, because I knew from the beginning it would lead nowhere near to the goal it all had started from, but it would give rise to a new way of democratic dictatorship and possibly an Islamic one as well. Just take a look at Egypt, who took control after Mubarak came down? The military which continues to hold a tight grip on the country.

              Like

              • The idea that populism is any surefire antidote to authoritarianism is a historically demonstrable delusion. Because, ultimately, “the people” are no less immune to corruption (and willing to side with corrupt forces) than governments, or corporations, or any other source of power.

                As a side note, in my social studies classes, the unit on the French Revolution was always one of the more popular amongst my students. 🙂

                Like

                • Wish I was there to argue my case with them. God, how much I miss sociology class. I miss talking about things like this, social, political, economical issues and more. I’m so cut off from anything who can be an outlet for my ideas to be spoken, right or wrong they may be I need to feel I can express them, I’m imploding lately.
                  P.S I just posted something I know is gonna be controversial if anyone bothers to actually read and comment on it… 🙂

                  Like


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

