francescannotwrite

20130320-080657.jpg

Los Angeles come to me the way I came to you! – John Fante

During the four hour bus ride from Hanoi (Vietnam) to Halong Bay, I glimpsed remnants of the Tet Festival whizz by and was reminded of a delightful blog post by kimi about Chinese New Year celebrations in Los Angeles. I especially found her blog post refreshing because I was reading Ask the Dust by John Fante, who portrays LA in a somber way. Of course, this is understandable because this semi-autobiographical tale is about a struggling writer living in LA during the Great Depression era. I should have realized Ask the Dust would be a morose story because it was praised by Charles Bukowski whose writings aren’t exactly merry.

However among the gloominess, there was humor…

Almighty god, I am sorry I am now an atheist, but have you read Nietzsche?

…and bright spots of…

View original post 263 more words

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

